Lion (2016)

“I’m not from Calcutta. I’m lost.”

What’s it about?

It’s about an Indian kid’s 25 year old game of hide and seek with his family.

Who’s in it?

Dev Patel, Dev Patel’s beautiful hair, My second favourite Mara, Nicole Kidman minus her weird clap and that dude from 300. Nah, not Gerard Butler. The one who got sent back because he was injured. The guy who retells the story. Dude with the eyepatch. Yeah, that one.

Why should I watch it?

+ This true story is pretty fucking incredible
+ Loved the relationship between Saroo and Guddu
+ It’s established as soon as and you just eat that shit up
+ Kid playing Saroo was great
+ He has this sweet slash innocent look and he wants to help out his family any way he can, which makes it even sadder when he gets lost
+ The kid can run as well, he runs away from his problems more than I do
+ Apparently every Indian kid in movies grow up to be Dev Patel
+ Dev Patel goes from giving answers in a quiz show to finding answers about his past
+ His Aussie accent was pretty on point
+ Powerful acting from Nicole Kidman, I didn’t even recognise her at first
+ Although, there’s a story that she says which was pretty weird, not sure if I was into it
+ She’s such a great mother
+ I’d run away 1600km from home just to be adopted by her as well
+ His biological parent was fucking nice too, I’ve got a soft spot for parents who sacrifice for their kids
+ Kate Mara is still my favourite Mara but, not gonna lie, Rooney is coming close
+ Better step your game up, Kate

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– Like I said, the kid is cool but he’s not the best listener, is he?
– Just stay there until your brother get back, how difficult is that?
– Jesus fuck
– This guy’s girlfriend wanted to help and then he acts like she’s holding her back
– The fuck, dude?
– Wait, is this an ad for Google Earth?
– Saroo’s sister got overlooked like the third Hemsworth brother
– Holy shit, and I thought India was dangerous for women, get those kids out of there
– Apparently, if you’re a homeless kid in India, everyone just wants to bang you

Anything else?

Movie touches on some interesting points about your past and about who you are. Where you came from is a massive part of you. You can’t go forwards without knowing where you came from. Was that line taken from a caption of an Instagram model? Perhaps.

Anyway, if you’ve ever thought you had lost your mum in a supermarket when you were a kid, you’ll be able to relate to this story.

8/10

You might also like:
Wild
Slumdog Millionaire
Life of Pi

27 thoughts on “Lion (2016)

  1. You know I haven’t seen this yet but I just wanted to say that a large depiction of what goes on in India is just a small portion of what happens. Yes, it is dangerous in some places, yes, you gotta watch your step in most areas but movies just glorify the worst. it’s not all bad in India. And it does look like all kids grow up to be Dev Patel. Lol! 🙂 Great review!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. 🙂 ya I just meant all these movies based off India are skewed.. I wish someone showed it for the diversity there is, but I guess that won’t make for a good movie

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This movie broke my soul, but I laughed so hard when I read, “Anyway, if you’ve ever thought you had lost your mum in a supermarket when you were a kid, you’ll be able to relate to this story.”

    I’m not sure if I should laugh at that or if that’s wrong, but it’s funny anyways so whatever.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent post! I saw this one very late in the game, but I’m glad I did, because it made my top 10 for the year! Spectacular performances by all involved! And showing the actual footage of him meeting his mother….ya girl was tearing up hard.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s dude! 🙃 this wasn’t on the top of my list as well but I’m glad I watched it too! Aha I did have to hold back some tears. Was it only me who found the three way hug a bit awkward? Aha

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel you. I didn’t really go out of my way to see this one, but I’m glad I watched it. Like Professor X said… “Chantelle, you still have time.”

      Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

