Moonlight (2016)

“At some point, you gotta decide for yourself who you’re going to be. Can’t let nobody make that decision for you.”

What’s it about?

Coming of age story about a black dude from Miami who changes his name more times than Puff Daddy. Or is it still P. Diddy? Just Diddy now?

Who’s in it?

Cottonmouth from Luke Cage, Calypso from The Pirates of the Caribbean franchise and three unknown slash awesome actors as my boy, Chiron.

Why should I watch it?

+ Movie is divided into three time periods of Chiron’s life
+ When he’s a kid, a teenager and a full blown adult
+ Liked how they give you enough info to fill in the gaps in-between the time periods yourself
+ So it’s a bit like Boyhood meets Steve Jobs with a sprinkle of Brokeback Mountain
+ *cue Salt Bae meme*
+ Full of amazing performances from the whole cast
+ Mahershala Ali is charismatic as fuck, the guy can act
+ Also a massive shout out to Naomie Harris
+ Very powerful acting, especially the third act
+ She makes you absolutely hate her then makes you sympathise with her
+ Chiron feels like the same person, even though he’s being played by three different people
+ Teenage Chiron will make you feel emotions
+ Adult Chiron was great at capturing his personality even though he started wearing less and going out more
+ In the end, you could say he became some-Juan
+ Basically a story of a guy trying to find out who he is and finding someone to accept him for who he is
+ And when he thinks he has found someone who might accept him and build a relationship with, something happens to break it off
+ So, kinda like directors and DC Universe movies
+ What the fuck is going on over there at Warner Bros?
+ Also liked the third act scenes with Kevin and Chiron
+ They had great chemistry and natural banter
+ Think the main message of the movie is that even though you had a shitty upbringing, you can still become successful…
+ ByΒ selling illegal drugs
+ Wait, what?

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– If you don’t like black people
– If you don’t like gay people
– If you don’t like gay black people
– Fucking hell, kids are mean
– Really annoys me when people use “is” instead of “are”
– Eg. Who IS you?
– Maybe it’s the copywriter in me
– That’s one way to end a movie, I suppose

Anything else?

A human story about finding out who you are and dealing with your masculinity while growing up in a pretty shitty place surrounded by bullies in 3/4 jean shorts, crack cocaine and a crackhead mother. Also shows how people in your life can affect who you choose to be in the future, becoming just like your father figure or being afraid of opening up with another person again after being hurt. This grabbed my attention way more than Boyhood did. People will be able to relate and sympathise with this movie. Go see it.

 

9/10

You might also like:
Boyhood
Jobs
Dope

28 thoughts on “Moonlight (2016)

      1. It didn’t feel like and then I got an offer at home so I decided to go back. I really just want to try different cities and see how I feel about living there and London just didn’t call to me unfortunately. Will visit a lot though!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sure did! Umm haven’t thought about it actually, I’ll turn on the bat signal and let you know soonish. (I’m guessing you’re going)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. – Really annoys me when people use β€œis” instead of β€œare”

    Dude, YES. The Grammar Nazi in me never ceases to seize up when incorrect grammar is stated… I am not studying for an overpaid degree in English for nothing! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t even see how you all know how it ended. I understood most of the dialogue, but the ending was just multiple mumbles, for me. I intuit something was said so that it didn’t work out between them? I do want to know. Oh and that’s a very entertaining review and thank you. I still feel “Arrival” and “Lion” are better movies and almost as pretty as “Moonlight”. But Juan – Ali – sure earned his Oscar. He is magnificent. PS: I wish people wouldn’t mumble during key scenes. But I am okay with “is” instead of “are” as Southern US language. (My inner picky pedant is kicking me. Ow!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I’m saying! Don’t give me that ambiguous shit aha Apparently that’s what happened, they didn’t work out but I’m not sure. Thanks πŸ™‚ Actually seen Lion recently and I really liked it. I’ll review it at some point soon πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I like the way you sum up the movie, in this one interesting line; “it’s a bit like Boyhood meets Steve Jobs with a sprinkle of Brokeback Mountain” Ha!! Though I haven’t seen Steve Jobs!!
    I actually loved Boyhood!! And I liked Moonlight more than you (I gave it 10/10 πŸ™‚ )
    I too the loved the 3rd n’ final act, of Moonlight. A touching end.
    Moonlight definitely deserved the Oscar win.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks man aha the fact that it took fuck loads of years is the reason I watched Boyhood really. It did bore me in some places. Maybe I related more with Moonlight cos I’m from the streets aha

      Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

