The Magnificent Seven (2016)

“I seek righteousness, as should we all. But I’ll take revenge.”

What’s it about?

To protect their land from some evil rich guy, the townspeople hires a bounty hunter, a Chris Pratt that trust Mexicans just as much as Trump does, a Mexican dude, Native Indian Legolas, a bear wearing people’s clothes, a guy who’s good with knives and a guy with PTSD.

Who’s in it?

Denzel Washington, Chris Pratt, Ethan Hawke, Wilson Fisk with Matt Murdoch’s catholicism, Haley Bennett and that ninja dude from RED and G.I. Joe as a ninja dude.

Why should I watch it?

+ Great cast, filled with solid actors, really diverse too
+ Denzel plays a mild mannered badass with a heart
+ So just Denzel being Denzel pretty much
+ Pratt plays a sly but funny and charming guy
+ So just Pratt being Pratt pretty much
+ Byung-hun Lee as Billy is probably my favourite
+ I mean this guy brings a knife to a gunfight
+ D’Onofrio as a soft spoken but hard hitting guy (Actually still unsure if I liked him or not but I’ll leave it here for now)
+ Hawke’s PTSD angle is a good addition, could’ve fleshed it out even further though
+ Also a big fan of Haley Bennett’s character
+ Strong and tough female in a time where they aren’t taken seriously
+ Liked that they didn’t add a romance with Pratt’s character, really thought they were gonna add it
+ Funny interactions/dialogue between the seven
+ Very laddy conversations though
+ Bad guy does a great job making you dislike him, he’s a piece of work
+ The action is awesome and surprisingly violent
+ Seriously, how is this a PG 13? There’s bits of people flying around
+ Tense stand offs and entertaining shootouts
+ Especially the final battle, it’s long but it’s pretty epic
+ A little Training Day reunion

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– Those boobs are quite distracting sometimes
– Casual sexism and racism
– We only really know three of the seven, the rest get no development
– I’m done with this whole “I’m gonna make you guys think I’m leaving but I’m actually gonna make a dramatic entrance when you need me the most because it enhances the third act in this movie” shit
– Reasons why some people join the team were pretty weak
– “Hey guys, can I be in this movie too?”
– “Well, the title does say Seven, right?”
– Also didn’t totally buy the reason some of the seven were willing to die for the cause
– Not enough interactions within the group, would’ve loved to have seen more
– Those poor horses man

Anything else?

Haven’t seen the original remake or the original original so the ending of the movie kinda caught me off guard. Not a perfect movie but still a whole lotta fun. I’d say go see it. Are Western movies cool again? Anyway, I’m off to play some Red Dead Redemption.

7/10

You might also like:
The Magnificent Seven (1960)
Seven Samurai
Training Day

18 thoughts on “The Magnificent Seven (2016)

  1. Nice review. Personally, I liked this movie. Sure, there was some problems with it, but it was a Western movie (something a bit different from 2016’s movie lineup) and the cast was a likeable and solid one. The movie aimed to speak to a “modern audience”, which it did.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ‘are Westerns cool again’ – they have ALWAYS been cool and always will be cool! Kind of like Paul McCartney. I answered your award Q’s on my blog and opened up the floor with some more.. I’d like to see you tackle my questions in the comments section.. if you dare..

    Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

