Swiss Army Man (2016)

“Maybe we’re all just ugly, dying sacks of shit and maybe all it’ll take is one person to just be okay with that.”

What’s it about?

A guy stranded on an island plays around with a dead body to find his way back to civilisation.

Who’s in it?

Paul Dano, Paula Dano, a dead and gassy Harry Potter and Mary Elizabeth Winstead’s instagram posts.

Why should I watch it?

+ Movie is incredibly unique and original
+ Awesome acting from the two main leads
+ Dano’s yelling reminds me of Adam DeVine’s
+ Radcliffe does a great job acting dead AND alive at the same time
+ Expelliarmus? More like expel-a-lot-of-gas-mus?
+ Holy shit, that was terrible
+ And his child-like, innocent, naive mind state makes for some funny moments
+ That masturbation line about Hank’s mum cracked me up
+ Also, “I have this sudden urge to put my mouth on your mouth” is one hell of a chat up line
+ Some creative uses for his bod as well
+ There’s some Harry Potter arse shots, if you’re into that kind thing
+ Soundtrack comes out unexpectedly but is aca-mazing
+ Great metaphor for loneliness
+ Teaching a dead guy about life isn’t what I thought the movie would be about but I honestly didn’t mind it
+ Liked how I didn’t know how the story would go
+ Funny and cool quick cuts
+ Great twist
+ Explores self acceptance through taboo conversations and tackling social norms
+ How people hide stuff from others to blend in with society and not be labelled as as weirdo
+ Shit gets deep guys
+ Teaches the world to sing and fart
+ Can’t sing for shit so both things will probably sound the same in my case

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– While I agree that we shouldn’t let some social norms hold us back…
– Don’t take photos of girls on buses man, it’s a bit creepy
– And definitely don’t put that up as your wallpaper
– So you should actually take it as a compliment when someone farts in front of you
– Means that they’re comfortable around you
– Not sure how I feel about the ending

Anything else?

This film is fucking bizarre and super weird but like this film suggest, that’s okay. Who knew farts could have a deeper meaning right? Don’t be put off with all the flatulence, please stick with until the end and it might just blow you away. I’ll let myself out.

Keith has also done a guest review for this movie so check his out here.

8/10

You might also like:
To be honest, I’m not sure I’ve seen any other movies like this. So maybe just watch anything with Dano or Radcliffe?

15 thoughts on “Swiss Army Man (2016)

What did you think?

