Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping (2016)

“I didn’t really relate to that song, cos you know, I had different things in my Jeep than he had in his Jeep.”

What’s it about?

You know how Scary Movie was to horror films? It’s basically like that but for Justin Bieber documentaries.

Who’s in it?

The Lonely Island, Sarah Silverman, Imogen Poots, Bill Hader, Maya Rudolph and Jay from The Inbetweeners (The good version, not the US one) as a Jared Leto lookalike.

Why should I watch it?

+ Big fan of mockumentaries (most of my favourite shows are mockumentaries) so that’s one big tick straight away
+ While Deadpool takes the piss out of comic book movies, this movie takes the piss out of the music industry
+ But not in a mean spirited way, you laugh with them and not at them
+ Like how it plays on something that mimics real life too, with Andy Samberg being the most popular out of the trio
+ Β It’s just funny how these songs are taken seriously
+ To be fair, they are pretty catchy though
+ Can’t stop listening to I’m so Humble
+ Funny cameos from musicians was a nice touch, makes it feel more real
+ Well played to them for playing along
+ Especially from Nas, his line about things in his Jeep killed me
+ Small cameo from Emma Stone and Andre from The League
+ TMZ parody (after researching TMZ, I thought they were just a website, didn’t know they have a TV show as well)
+ Thought Justin Timberlake as the chef was hilarious
+ Stage manager narrating contemplation scene cracked me up
+ Great chemistry between the group, it’s like they’re friends in real life or something
+ Like the overall message of friendship and not being a dick when you’re on top
+ Also highlights our obsession with celebrities, you can kinda understand why they have mental breakdowns

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– That dick shot caught me off guard, didn’t think they would go there
– Must be like how girls feel when they receive unexpected dick pics
– Also, this is what I’ve been telling people man
– If you have a good beat, people don’t care what you’re singing about
– Think it’s quite easy for artists to borrow beats from producers, because people will like it regardless (Source: someone who can’t sing)
– For example: the beat for Where Are U Now or Sorry, Jack U or Skrillex could’ve had anyone singing over it and it would still be a smash hit
– That’s why I like and respect Kanye West for his music because he actually produces as well, so it’s all him
– Don’t get me wrong though, he’s a still a massive douchebag

Anything else?

Wasn’t expecting much from this movie (didn’t really even know what to expect to be honest) but as you can tell from my adjective use, it was surprisingly good. Even if you’re not a fan of The Lonely Island, this satire will make you laugh 4 real.

7/10

You might also like:
What We Do in The Shadows
Ali G Indahouse
Keanu

42 thoughts on “Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping (2016)

  1. I missed this one in theaters (probably going to rent it later this year). Like you, I don’t have high expectations for this movie…so who knows…I might like it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Man, you guys get so many films earlier. Tbf we do get Marvel films before you guys so I’ll take it. Aha yeah give it a try when you can man, think you’ll have a ball with it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg I started watching it a couple of weeks ago and totally forgot about finishing it! Thank you for posting and reminding me haha Agree with you about mockumentaries, they’re great! Also, I love The Lonely Island so was super excited about the idea for this movie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha why did you stop? Hey man, it’s what I do πŸ˜‰ what’s your favourite mockumentary show? Let me know what you think when you finish it!

      Like

      1. I was kittensitting at my friend’s place and started watching it on popcorn time on her computer, but halfway through it stopped loading and couldn’t finish πŸ™„ Mmm..I think my favourite must be “I’m still here”, even just because I found the idea behind it brilliant! What about you??

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Maaaan those are the worst! The buffering not kitten sitting aha never even seen that you know, I thought we were chatting tv shoes lol but mine might have to be What We Do in the Shadows.

        Like

      3. Ron Swanson is the best! Big fan of Tom as well #SnakeJuice aha I think I’ll have to go with The Office. So good!

        Like

      4. Yeah Tom second favourite haha when the show ended me and a friend got park and rec tshirts, me with Ron and him with “treat yo self”!
        I tried watching the office but couldn’t get into it, gave up after a couple of seasons πŸ˜•

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ahaha thats so cool! Trust, stick with it. Michael is a bit annoying to start with but he really grows on you.

        Like

  3. Just watched this one. Finally! I thought all of the highlights you mentioned were hilarious and great (the jeep line was indeed amazing). Something about it is missing, though. Can’t put my finger on it. Connor wasn’t really that much of a jerk. Like, he was inconsiderate and aloof, but he wasn’t a full-on dick. He actually cared about people and was constantly analyzing his career path in an endearing way.

    And weirdly, enough, I can’t tell if that makes me admire Samberg’s choice to play him like that, or if I’m upset he didn’t go all out into super dick mode.

    Maybe it’s just because I’m still at a point where I think Walk Hard is probably the funniest movie I’ve ever seen, even more than Dumb and Dumber. I don’t know if you’re into the history of rock music, but have you seen it? It took me five viewings, but after that something clicked and now I think it’s the greatest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always awesome when celebrities don’t take themselves seriously and play along right? Aha i think that was the right call personally, if he was on super dick mode, I wouldn’t care about him that much if that makes sense? Just saw the trailer for that and it looks hilarious, I’ll definitely add it to the list! I’ve never even heard of it so cheers for putting it on my radar! And thanks for the comment man, love a good discussion.

      Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

