The Big Short (2015)

“People hate to think about bad things happening so they always underestimate their likelihood.”

What’s it about?

The Dark Knight, the 40-year-old virgin, and Ryan Gosling predict the 2007-2008 United States credit and housing bubble collapse and come down on the biggest U.S. banks for their irresponsibility and lack of precaution.

Who’s in it?

Benjamin Button, Christian Bale, Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling, Hot Aunt May, and Schmidty.

Why should I watch It?

+ All The Big Short’s top-billed actors have brought their A-game. They understand the delicate and heavy subject matter and gave nuanced performances as a result
+ The exchanges between Steve Carell and Ryan Gosling are verbal sparring at its best
+ The dialogue is sharp and the banking jargon is written for mass audience understanding
+ The film’s editing and direction is inventive. Adam McKay’s use of the fourth-wall break is a great way to keep the audience interested
+ The Big Short made me laugh quite a bit. Some of the characters seem larger than life, but you never forget that the film is based on true events
+ If you like when banks get their butts handed to them
+ You understand and support the wearing of surgical masks in public places
+ Margot Robbie in a bubble bath sipping on champagne explaining some exposition points

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

-I had to pause the film and rewind a few times because no matter how public-friendly the writing was, I had to research some of the terms to really follow specific plot points
-Even at 130 minutes, the film felt a little short
-Bale’s character’s backstory falls a little flat. His struggles fitting in because of his glass eye felt shoe-horned in to elicit sympathy from the audience
-Bale’s drum solo substituting for a sex-scene is unnecessary. We get it, he’s stressed

Anything else?

The Big Short is as informative as it is entertaining. There are few movies like it nowadays and it is a welcome breath of cinematic fresh air. I didn’t feel bored except for when Bale is reminiscing about his childhood. I feel as though the unconventional nature of his character was expressed through the heavy metal he listens to as well as his walking around bare-foot in his office. But, I like heavy metal so hearing Led Zeppelin, Pantera, Mastodon and Metallica during a film with such important subject matter made me smile a little more.

The Big Short is a wonderful film with top-notch acting and unconventional directing. I highly recommend it!

8.5/10

 

You might also like:
All the President’s Men
Inside Job
Inside Man

Shamelessplug Logo

12 thoughts on “The Big Short (2015)

  1. nice review JM, but I gotta say this movie bored the hell outta me. I watched it twice and still can’t say that I understood everything they were trying to say.

    I felt that they were pandering to us too much and the heavy subject matter and economic jargon kept losing me.

    Good luck filling those huge shoes!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks, sir! Yeah, I understand about the jargon, that’s why I put it in the negatives. I kept looking up definitions and explanations. But, in the end, I was quite happy because with that added research I understand a little more of how that stuff works 🙂

      I’ll do my best with regards to filling in the shoes!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your comment, Karina! I liked the film a great deal too. It really is an eye-opening experience. So much goes on without anyone having the slightest clue.

      I agree that people should read up more about finance. I think most people, including myself, just feel overwhelmed with the amount of info to take in when it comes to finance. Could be interesting to have it added to education curriculums as mandatory courses starting at a very young age.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I agree. This is such a fundamental part of daily life it makes wonder why it isn’t part of the educational curriculum. If they can include sex ed, why not basic financial end that includes basic saving, spending, and budgeting and intro to home financing and retirement investments so at least they would be on the kids’ radar and they can look more into it themselves later.

        Liked by 2 people

What did you think?

