The Fundamentals of Caring (2016)

“Pick a number between 1 and 3,500.”

What’s it about?

A guy in a wheelchair falls in love with the Mother of Dragons and a retired writer turned carer go on a road trip to the world’s deepest pit because road trips solve everything.

Who’s in it?

I know him as the kid from Tracy Beaker but you’ll probably recognise him as Assjuice from Bad Neighbours, Paul Rudd, Selena Gomez and the woman that was originally cast as Catelyn Stark.

Why should I watch it?

+ First of all, Trevor is a very funny dude, he’s very sarcastic and pulls a lot of pranks
+ Using humour as a coping mechanism, which is something I can see myself doing if I was in his position
+ Paul Rudd was dialled back a bit but still manages to pull off laughs
+ Especially the “Bite of the James” scene
+ Seriously, Craig Roberts should get an Oscar just for not breaking character during that scene
+ Their back-and-forth jabs and constantly one upping each other are a lot of fun to watch
+ Both manage to execute when it comes to the dramatic parts too
+ Dealing with issues of abandonment and tragic loss
+ This was more of a story of Ben though, and his overall character arc
+ Moving on and realising that there’s life after death
+ Even the mother had a great banter with Trevor
+ Selena Gomez was fairly decent, she was more HBO than Disney in this one
+ There’s enough in there to make a relationship with Trevor believable
+ Surprisingly funny movie, I honestly cracked up a healthy amount of times
+ There was a funny jump cut scene that reminded me a little bit of Edgar Wright and his visual comedy
+ Fair play to carers out there, really don’t think I can do that job
+ Also, fair play to parents too, juggling work load and worrying about your kids

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– If this movie was a road trip, then you’ve seen this road before
– Although, there are some misdirections that I liked, call it even?
– The mother kinda drifts off about 30 mins in, wanted more of her
– Man, I can see some of this kids pranks eventually pissing me off in real life
– Don’t believe Selena Gomez would find it difficult to hitchhike
– I’d definitely give her a ride
– Then we’ll both be singing “Can’t keep my hands to myself”
– Did I make it weird?
– She’s attractive is what I’m saying
– Speaking of which, doesn’t help reinforcing that pretty girls get what they want (Nice segue bro)
– Oh, and there’s another woman thrown in just to set up the ending, bringing pretty much nothing to the table
– Finally, because the movie focuses more on Ben, the movie doesn’t really drive home the message of not taking simple things for granted or make the most of what you can when you can

Anything else?

One word to describe this movie? Endearing. Well done, Netflix. It’s good to know they still make good movies in between sessions of handing money over to Adam Sandler. Really makes me wanna travel across America now, Route 66 road trip, anyone?

7/10

You might also like:
Grandma
Due Date
Little Miss Sunshine

7 thoughts on “The Fundamentals of Caring (2016)

  1. Enjoyed this one too but couldn’t help get over some ridiculous plot points, especially with the over protective mother who lets a man who’s probably cared for her son for a month or so to take him across the country unsupervised. Once I switched my brain off though it was fun. Good read!

    Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

