Race (2016)

“Out there, there ain’t no black and white. There’s only fast and slow.”

What’s it about?

Race… I see what you did there. The title is a double meaning regarding Jesse Owen’s life, suffering racial abuse and his record-breaking dominance of the sport of track-and-field. Proving that not all American heroes carry shields on their backs.

Who’s in it?

Stephan James, Jason Sudeikis, Jeremy Irons, William Hurt, the chick from Sex Drive and the red priestess from Game of Thrones, wearing probably a lot more clothing that you’re used to.

Why should I watch it?

+ I’m familiar with what Jesse Owens did but don’t really know his full story
+ Hats off to the guy, he’s quite an inspiration
+ He’s built like an absolute machine, Jesse O-wins more like
+ He’s like the Adam Sandler of bad movies, the Jennifer Lawrence of overrated actresses
+ Performances were decent but won’t blow you away
+ Like Chadwick Boseman in 42, Stephan James was decent as Owens, a shy and mild mannered guy
+ As for Sudeikis and his first serious role, he does pretty well but doesn’t reach Jonah Hill from Moneyball status
+ Surprisingly the story doesn’t only centered around Owens but also on what’s going on in Germany
+ There’s an American Olympic committee’s inner conflict on whether to take part in the Olympics or not
+ Putting  Alfred from BvS against General Ross from Civil War
+ And there’s also Jesse’s inner conflict on whether to take part in the Olympics or not
+ Don’t understand why the NAACP doesn’t want him to take part, it’s a massive fuck you to the Nazis, no?
+ There’s nothing better than watching Nazis and their Aryan superiority get fucking embarrassed
+ Big fist pump moment as well when the Jewish athltetes were all up in those fascist grills
+ Luz was such a cool dude, showing that not all Germans are pricks
+ Also really liked Owens’ dad, a quiet guy that doesn’t show a lot of emotions but gives solid advice when needed
+ Who was his acting coach? Kirsten Stewart?
+ He actually wore adidas shoes during the Olympics. Making him the first sponsored african american athlete. Didn’t know where else to put this note. So yeah… Pretty cool fact though right?

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– Piss poor CGI stadium scenes, looked like they were from a TV show
– What’s with athletes and cheating?
– “Me waiting for you in the rain is symbolic of my feelings” cliché
– So if I cheat on a girl, I can fix it by asking her to marry me? I’ll keep that in mind. Thanks Jesse!
– Doesn’t really get too dramatic, if you know what I mean?
– He flip-flops on his decision real quick
– Ending was pretty weak sauce for me
– My street cred is about to take a beating here but I really thought “shorty” was a new-ish slang, like 1990s/2000 not 1960s

Anything else?

Thing is, Germany and USA are not really that different back then if you think about it. America just goes incognito mode when it comes to racism and doesn’t put on a show like Germany. I read that the president of the America at that time didn’t even invite Owens to the White House and they got all butthurt when Hitler didn’t shake his hand. Hey America, what kind of glass is your house made of?

7/10

You might also like:
42
Unbroken
Eddie The Eagle

8 thoughts on “Race (2016)

  1. It’s true- Owens didn’t get invited/wasn’t allowed into the White House. The irony. Oh well. I was just glad that his story finally got told on the big screen. I’m ashamed to say it, but I knew basically nothing about him before I saw the movie!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I died at “the red priestess from Game of Thrones, wearing probably a lot more clothing that you’re used to”. I had to stop and laugh for the longest time before reading the rest.
    Good thing you posted this! I was waiting for some review I could rely on before watching this movie. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha I’m just glad I made someone laugh 😀 and no worries! Thanks for reading! I’ll keep an eye out for your review/thoughts 👀

      Like

What did you think?

