Warcraft: The Beginning (2016)

“From light comes darkness and from darkness, light.”

What’s it about?

It’s a bit like watching how the rivalry of Bloods/Crips or Palestine/Israel started. The Orc world is dying so they decide to invade the human world but they only have enough magic to send their best soldiers. In order to bring the whole family over, they need to use human lives as currency.

Who’s in it?

The main guy from Vikings, Paula Patton, Doctor Doom from the shitty Fantastic Four reboot, Dominic Cooper and Ruth Negga as King and Queen (They’re also both in a new TV show called Preacher, check it out!), and a poorly utilised Ben Foster.

Why should I watch it?

+ The CGI is really pretty. I mean, those close up shots of the orcs? It’ll definitely please people’s visual senses
+ Speaking of orcs, Toby Kebbell nails the motion capture yet again. Playing the most likeable character, Durotan
+ He’s looking more like Toby Serkis these days, am I right?
+ You end up relating more with the orcs and their motivations
+ Even the Orc banter feel more natural than the human’s
+ The only likeable human character has to be the King, he just wants the best for everyone and he’s someone you can rally behind with
+ The main bad guy is also pretty cool, had a definite Shang Tsung vibe about him. Where’s my Mortal Kombat fans at?
+ Man, Paula Patton looks hot even as an Orc, she’s pretty bad ass too
+ Movies these days always seem to add love thing between the two fantasy races but hey, I’m not here to judge
+ Battles scenes were pretty damn entertaining and epic in proportion
+ Especially when the camera zooms out, it will remind you of the game
+ How magic is presented looks SO awesome. Doctor Strange, take note
+ How the language changes is handled really well too
+ Sets up storylines for future movies
+ Look forward to the introduction of more races and characters

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– Suffers from pacing issues and it reminds me of myself walking through a dark alley way at night, jumpy as fuck
– Like most people, I didn’t really care for the humans
– Tries too hard to be funny, especially the main character
– Hey, Duncan Jones, I don’t really play the game. Mind explaining some of this stuff for me?
– The final, final fight was fucking anti-climactic. Why even include this scene man?
– Dunno about you, but I would definitely be asking trust related questions if my wife gives birth to a green baby (I know, I know. It’s the Fel)

Anything else?

I’m familiar with the game but I’ve never played World of Warcraft. I’m not really an RPG kinda guy, more FIFA, NBA, GTA and Halo. If you’ve invested time playing WoW when/since you were a teen, you’ll have a ball with this, I know my mate did. But for me, it was just orc-kay, pretty good but not a-mage-ing. Just Fel short of breaking the video game curse. Double hidden blades crossed for Assassin’s Creed.

6/10

You might also like:
Avatar
The Lord of the Rings Trilogy
The Hobbit Trilogy

23 thoughts on “Warcraft: The Beginning (2016)

  1. So it DIDN’T break the video game movie curse. Shocker. Still have to see it though as there’s nothing else this weekend.
    Quick question, Diego. Will you not rest until someone eventually drops dead from laughing so hard at your jokes and puns?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah a solid 8/10 movie would probably break it. I still haven’t seen The Nice Guys, I really wanna see that. Aha that would be an achievement! Would definitely add that to my CV aha

      Like

    1. Aha thanks man! I can see why you would love this, the world is pretty immersive. I’ll still watch the next one, just give me more dwarves, mages and elves.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey there! Welcome to the movie blog community, there’s tons of cool people out there! Yeah I’ll still watch the sequel I think, wanna see how it unravels.
      Thanks for visiting and cool site!

      Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

