Short Term 12 (2013)

*Raps* “Look into my eyes so you know that its like,
       to live a life not knowing what a normal life’s like.”

What’s it about?

Short Term 12 focuses on Grace, who is a supervisor at a group home for troubled teens. The movie follows her relationship with her boss, her staff, her boyfriend and, most importantly, the neglected youths.

Who’s in it?

Brie Larson, the guy from 10 Cloverfield Lane (No, not John Goodman, the other dude), the guy who played Snoop Dogg in Straight Outta Compton, Mr. Robot and the tough chick from Brooklyn Nine Nine.

Why should I watch it?

+ Brie Larson is probably my favourite actress at the moment
+ Love her more than The Academy loves Jennifer Lawrence
+ Contains very human stories
+ Great performances all around, especially the kids
+ It’s hard not to care about the characters
+ Staff’s interaction with the kids
+ Trying to connect with with and deal with their issues
+ There’s a lot of compassion and empathy going around
+ Relationship between Grace and Jayden
+ Clever but natural exchange between them
+ Has the deepest and most disturbing children’s story about an octopus and a shark
+ And a heartfelt rap song
+ Feels refreshingly original
+ Based on an important subject matter
+ It will make you laugh
+ It will break your heart
+ Also has a fun bookend
+ Short Term 12 will stay in your long term memory
+ Living there rent free

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– The rap was cool and everything, but dude, rhyming like with like? Not very fresh 🌚
– Tears might ruin the taste of your popcorn
– If you lack emotions
– If you have a tear drop tattoo under your eye

Anything else?

Okay, confession time. I’ve actually reviewed this movie before when I first started but I just so happen to rewatch it. I absolutely adore this movie and I just want more people to see it. Genuinely can’t recommend this movie enough, it’s the best kept secret on Netflix. On a serious note, child abuse/neglect is my least favourite thing, there’s nothing sadder than a broken childhood. A massive shout out to everyone in this profession, you the real MVP.

9/10

You might also like:
Room
Fruitvale Station
The Wrestler
Precious

8 thoughts on “Short Term 12 (2013)

  1. I am always looking for good Netflix movies – graduated with a film degrees so I try to see a movie a week now but too expensive to always go to the theater . I also love Brie Larson so thanks for the suggestion!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This movie is so underrated! Without this, Brie Larson probably wouldn’t have her Academy Award for Room. Did you know the director actually worked in one of these places after he graduated college?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So so so underrated! I knew there was something about you I liked! Aha Seriously, Brie Larson is my favourite actress, she just seems so down to earth. Aha I’ve actually watched most of the interviews the cast and directors had on YouTube. That’s how much I love it aha

      Like

What did you think?

