Hush (2016)

“Kill him.”

What’s it about?

A published author living in a remote place gets picked on by a killer. Oh yeah, and she can’t hear or speak.

Who’s in it?

Not gonna lie, I only recognised that guy from 10 Cloverfield Lane (Nah, not John Goodman, the other dude) and the ripped but dumb guy who dated Penny from The Big Bang Theory and Robin from HIMYM.

Why should I watch it?

+ Most horror films makes you scared WITH the character, this one makes you scared FOR the character because of the mute and deaf aspect
+ It also gets rid of some stupid horror movie clichΓ©s
+ Like having no reception or the killer walking around without making any noise
+ Kate Siegel played terrified/desperate to badass really well
+ How her inside voices were portrayed was cool
+ Taking mask off the bad guy so early on is a pretty ballsy move
+ Reverse Home Alone
+ Instead of the good guy trying to keep the bad guys from coming inside the house, the bad guy tries to keep the good guy inside the house
+ Pretty sure the movie happens in real time as well
+ Movie is short and sweet
+ You get to learn the sign language for bitch?

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– Couple of ‘Oh, for fuck sake!’ and ‘What the fuck are you doing?!’ moments
– Unlike the book that this woman wrote, the ending for this movie wasn’t unexpected

Anything else?

Can’t imagine how scary it would be being hunted by a crazy fucker without one of your senses. Not knowing how much noise you’re making or hearing if he is nearby but hey, at least she’s now got some new material for her novel. Also reminded me that sign language could be a cool thing to learn, you kinda give voice to the voiceless.

7/10

You might also like:
You’re Next
Oculus
The Strangers

15 thoughts on “Hush (2016)

  1. I’ll be on the lookout when it’s available on blu-ray. I have seen You’re Next, Oculus and The Strangers. All creepy, somewhat predictable in certain places, but I like horror films . . .

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve seen so many of them that my reviews would all sound the same because they are all kind of alike. However, one that I saw I did not like at all but I was surprised a lot of people did. It was It Follows. I thought it was a waste of time. I know the storyline was supposedly considered original, but I thought it was sophomoric to say it kindly.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so excited to watch this movie. I have such a backlog of things read, watch and play but I’m definitely going to carve out some time for this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey! You left 7/10, but this sh!t was one of the best thrillers I’ve ever watched. The best thing was there was really no talking, but still, it wasn’t boring. Thanks for review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha I had to compare to to other thrillers. I gave Cloverfield Lane an 8 and I thought that was better than Hush. It’s still a really really good film though! And you nailed it on the head!

      Like

What did you think?

