The Gift (2015)

“… The bad things, they can be a gift.”

What’s it about?

Simon moves back to his hometown with his wife when he meets someone who went to his school. Instead of posting on his Facebook wall about meeting up but never actually meeting up like normal people do, this guy decides to stop by unannounced, drop off presents and slowly cross into the stalker territory.

Who’s in it?

Jason Bateman, Rebecca Hall and a very creepy Joel Edgerton.

Why should I watch it?

+ A couple move into a new house and weird things start to happen
+ Sounds like a typical horror movie, right?
+ But no, this is more of a psychological thriller
+ With a mystery that slowly unravels
+ And good pacing that builds tension
+ Edgerton plays Gordo perfectly, weird and off-key but still sympathetic
+ Props to Edgerton for also writing this movie and making his directorial debut
+ Jason Bateman for nails the serious role
+ Blurs the line between a bad guy and a good guy
+ Ending that keeps you debating in your head
+ Like Inception, it shows the power of putting ideas in people’s mind
+ Bit of a Keyser Sรถze moment near the end
+ Small role from Jenny from The League and Roy from The Office

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– Kinda makes you apprehensive to openning up presents
– So maybe don’t watch it on your birthday or during Christmas time
– Also, my mum told me that popular kids peak in school so that was pretty unrealistic (light sarcasm)

Anything else?

This is basically the longest anti-bullying ad. Reminder to never do something to others, what you don’t want others to do to you. Although, I did feel really bad for the people who were collateral damage from this psychological game of chess. You know what would be funny? Sending a copy of this movie to people who used to bully you in school. Bet they’d be apologising faster than Lad Bible did with their Wentworth Miller meme.

8/10

Related movies:
Gone Girl
Shutter Island
Oldboy

9 thoughts on “The Gift (2015)

  1. “Kinda makes you apprehensive to openning up presents.” ๐Ÿ˜€
    I really liked this movie. Mostly because of the “bullying” plot, and I love me some good-old-fashioned-revenge-on-bullies stories. Jason was an amazing douchebag in this one (y)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same! Aha and Joel was great as well. Gotta say though, I’m not sure who’s side I’m on. Both did pretty shitty things aha

      Like

  2. I’ve seen the trailer a while ago, unfortunately didn’t get the chance to watch it, so at first I felt reluctant whether I should read your review or not. Eventually I can say thank you for no spoilers and making me want to see the movie even more. ๐Ÿ™‚ also thank you for the humorous, yet still very realistic movie reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And thanks for the compliments! I’m just glad people like reading them. I think it’s on Netflix right now (it is in UK one anyway), let me know what you think!

      Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

