Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (2015)

“Ugh, tests… I’ve been there.”

What’s it about?

A high schooler who gets through school by keeping low-key friendships with every group and making spoof films gets forced by his parents to hang out with a classmate diagnosed with leukaemia.

Who’s in it?

The guy who threw a house party in Project X, the guy about to play The Blue Ranger in the Power Rangers reboot and the dying girl from Bates Motel as the dying girl.

Why should I watch it?

+ It doesn’t force a love story
+ Olivia Cooke delivers heartfelt scenes
+ Realistic and witty dialogue
+ Gives you a list of what you shouldn’t say to people with cancer
+ Funny film parodies
+ Has incredible book arts
+ Ron Swanson from Parks & Rec as a dad with an exotic taste
+ Shane from The Walking Dead as the cool teacher
+ A cameo from someone who rhymes with Polverine
+ Hey, life gets better after high school

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– Based on a book so the book is automatically better
– If you’ve seen it before it was cool

Anything else?

Just a good old story about friendship and self-acceptance. In addition, it brings up the power of movies. How it can bring people with different backgrounds together and even distract you from however shitty your situation is. Think of this film as a quirky and asexual version of The Fault in Our Stars.

7/10

You might also like:
Dope
50/50
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Spectacular Now

10 thoughts on “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (2015)

    1. Confession time, I don’t actually read books as much as I should. It’s just my fun slash sarcastic way of saying it’s based on a book. Would be interesting to know the best and worst differences though?

      Like

  1. I read the book for this movie about two years ago and I quite enjoyed it, but I haven’t watched the movie yet. However, now I’ll trust your opinion and watch it on the weekend. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whoa, I kinda feel the pressure now aha I hope you like it as much as the book! Lemme know what you think. I’m also interested in any changes from the book, good and bad.

      Like

What did you think?

