Deadpool (2016)

“Fine! I only have 12 bullets so you’re gonna have to share!”

What’s it about?

Like a botched celeb surgery, an experiment leaves a loved up mercenary severely disfigured. Unlike a botched celeb surgery, he also gains healing powers like Wolverine, the ability to break the fourth wall like Frank Underwood and the humour of a Seth Rogen movie.

Who’s in it?

The “Sexiest Man Alive” (according to People magazine in 2010), Monica Baccarin, T.J. Miller and that guy from the newest Transporter film. What do you mean you haven’t seen it? Yeah, me neither.

Why should I watch it?

+ Ryan Reynolds is as Deadpool as Robert Downy Jr. is as Iron Man
+ Violent action scenes and gory deaths
+ Fourth wall breaks makes us part of the joke
+ Hilarious taxi scenes
+ Fight scene with Colossus
+ Interaction with Negasonic Teenage Warhead
+ More self-aware than Skynet
+ Plenty of movie references
+ Plenty of actor in movie references
+ Plenty of comic book references (or so I heard)

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– Story was weak if I’m being honest
– If you’re under 18 outside of the UK or if you just happen to live in China
– If you’re above dirty or crude jokes

Anything else?

A fun and extremely entertaining movie that keeps you laughing throughout. Hopefully studios will see how successful this movie is and give more creative control to directors, interfere less and take a risk once in a while.
*Josh Trank likes this comment*

8/10

You might also like:
Kick-Ass/ Kick-Ass 2
Kingsman: The Secret Service
Super (Netflix)

10 thoughts on “Deadpool (2016)

  1. What’s your thoughts on someone who’s tired of superhero/Marvel movies and TV watching it? Would a non-superhero fan enjoy its irreverence?

    Like

    1. It kinda depends on your sense of humour but I think there’s enough novelty to make you wanna watch it. Imagine putting an anti-hero in a movie with the mix of John Wick, 21 Jump Street and a Seth Rogan movie.

      Like

  2. I really liked the gore, the soundtrack, and the cinematography and I really wanted to love this movie, but I found our title character so damn annoying! Apparently, according to my Marvelphilic family, all of that irritating verbal diarrhea is the beauty of Deadpool’s character. It was an enjoyable potty mouthed action flick, but I think something was lost in the translation.

    Like

    1. I’m also not that familiar with Deadpool but apparently it was adapted straight from the comics. It’s interesting that you liked the movie while finding the main character irritating. My only problem is that the story is pretty much him trying to get his looks back.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, Diego, you have a fine point there! I guess I’m a bit of a romantic at heart. I saw his quest, not so much as vanity, rather as an attempt to win back his love.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries man, it’s just a shame your girlfriend don’t like it as much as we do. Thanks for the kind words! And for sure, I’ll check it out.

      Like

  3. Saw this movie and i was pleasantly surprised! Im not usually a fan of Ryan Reynolds but he makes this film and the piece to cameras actually work. Need to watch this again, the plot was good too – to appreciate this movie I think you need to have a dry sense of humour 😆 overall brilliant

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this movie! The action was great and it was a hilarious film! I loved all the pop culture references in it and the fourth wall breakage. I can’t afford to watch movies multiple times in theaters, but this one might be an exception.

    Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

