The Revenant (2015)

“I ain’t afraid to die anymore. I’ve done it already.”

What is it about?

Based on the incredible true story of Hugh Glass. Following a bear attack that leaves him half dead, some of his companions decides to call it and bury him anyway. He crawls back, nurses himself back to health and serves revenge at an appropriate temperature.

Who’s in it?

Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy, Domhnall Gleeson and that awkward kid from We’re The Millers.

Why should I watch it?

+ Realistic and terrifying bear attack
+ A scrappy and barbaric fight scene (these guys actually just wanted to murder each other)
+ Well shot, great visuals
+ Tom Hardy makes you hate his character
+ So that you can get angry when Leo loses at the Oscars
+ Also nominated for 11 more categories

Why shouldn’t I watch it?

– The movie drags on a little too long
– If Hugh Glass was made of glass, it would be a bulletproof glass

Anything else?

Full disclosure, the movie is over 2 and a half hours long so clear your schedule. Still, it is a bear-y good movie. I’ll let myself out.

8/10

You might also like:
John Wick
Birdman

7 thoughts on “The Revenant (2015)

  1. Just saw this yesterday. I agree it dragged on a bit, but the entire film was so beautiful that I could overlook that fact. Tom Hardy did such a superb job of making me hate him too. I was demanding his blood throughout the entire film!

    Like

What did you think?

